Bela Farkas: “Why did you choose me?”

Bela Farkas: “Why did you choose me?”

Bela with his newborn daughterHungarian magazine “Story” published a surprising article about Bela Farkas, the young man from Hungary, whose life Michael Jackson saved 20 years ago. The story was prompted by a happy occasion: Bela recently became a father.

The young man on the picture is Bela, the same little boy whom Michael and his then wife Lisa Marie met in a children’s hospital in Budapest in 1994 (Bela’s story was briefly told in one of the previous articles). He never gave an interview before – this was his first conversation with journalists in 20 years.

Bela was born with a serious anomaly: an undeveloped hepatic lobe, a life-threatening condition that required a liver transplant. Such surgeries were not performed in Hungary at the time and were very expensive abroad. Bela’s parents abandoned him at birth, so he had no hope to get the money.

When Michael visited the hospital, he asked doctors why the boy was so thin and yellow in the face and was explained Bela’s condition. Michael immediately said that he would pay for the surgery. It was a rare occasion when Jackson’s charitable act received publicity and media coverage.

Read more

The last wish: 10 stories about meeting Mcihael Jackson

The last wish: 10 stories about meeting Mcihael Jackson

Media always paid a lot of attention to rumors about Michael Jackson’s personal life, his financial troubles and lawsuits thrown at him, issues of his skin color and plastic surgeries. Sometimes they were generous enough to write about his music. But very rarely did the media report on what Michael considered his main mission and purpose on Earth – on his efforts to help suffering and unfortunate children. This side of Jackson’s activity remained unpopular with the press – partly because Michael himself never flaunted his charitable acts. He believed that by publicizing a good deed you are devaluing it – that’s why he never invited journalists to cover his charitable efforts and never talked about them on press-conferences (unless it was required for raising money for a good cause). And only because media followed him relentlessly, there were occasional reports about his visits to hospitals and orphanages. But many testimonies to his kindness were never printed in newspapers or filmed by TV crews. They remained known only to live witnesses of those events – to people, some of which spoke about their experience with Michael Jackson for the first time after his passing.

This article is a compilation of stories of people who received help from Michael Jackson. Often, these are touching and sad stories. Stories that show the side of the artist rarely seen by the general public.

Read more

Бела Фаркаш: «Почему ты выбрал меня?»

Бела Фаркаш: «Почему ты выбрал меня?»

Бела с новорожденной дочерьюВ венгерском журнале «Story» появилась неожиданная статья о Беле Фаркаше, молодом человеке из Венгрии, которому Майкл Джексон спас жизнь 20 лет назад . Поводом для новости послужило счастливое событие: у Белы недавно родилась дочь.

Молодой парнишка на фото — это и есть Бела, тот самый маленький мальчик, которого Майкл и его жена Лиза Мари увидели в 1994 году в детской больнице Будапешта (краткая история Белы в одной из предыдущих статей). Он никогда раньше не давал интервью — за 20 лет это его первый разговор с журналистами.

Бела родился с серьезным отклонением: неразвитой долей печени, и пересадка печени была ему жизненно необходима. В то время в Венгрии таких операций не делали, а за рубежом они были очень дороги. Родители отказались от мальчика при рождении, поэтому у него не было никакой надежды собрать деньги.

Во время посещения больницы Майкл Джексон увидел Белу и спросил врачей, почему мальчик так худ и его кожа желтого оттенка. Ему объяснили ситуацию, и он немедленно сказал, что оплатит операцию. Это была одна из немногих историй о благотворительной деятельности Джексона, получивших широкую огласку.

Читать далее

Последнее желание: 10 встреч с Майклом Джексоном

Последнее желание: 10 встреч с Майклом Джексоном

СМИ всегда уделяли избыточное внимание слухам о личной жизни Майкла Джексона, его судебным тяжбам, вопросам цвета кожи и пластических операций. Иногда внимания удостаивалась также его музыка, но почти никогда в прессе не писали о том, что сам он считал своей основной миссией и что составляло смысл его жизни – о помощи больным и бедствующим детям. Эта сторона деятельности Джексона всегда была непопулярна у репортеров – отчасти потому, что сам Майкл не афишировал свою благотворительность. Он считал, что если ты рассказываешь о добром деле публично, ты тем самым обесцениваешь его – потому никогда не приглашал журналистов освещать эту тему и не давал об этом пресс-конференций. И лишь благодаря тому, что пресса следовала за ним неотступно, становилось известно о его визитах в детские дома и больницы. Но многие удивительные свидетельства его великодушия так и не попали ни на страницы газет, ни в объективы телекамер. О них знали лишь непосредственные участники – некоторые из которых впервые рассказали о своем знакомстве с Майклом лишь после его смерти.

Эта статья составлена из свидетельств людей, которым помог Майкл Джексон. Из трогательных и часто трагических историй. Историй, раскрывающих сторону артиста, о которой мало кто знал.

Читать далее